When a person is representing an organization or agency through social media they must be aware of the implications. A professional social media page is not the place to air your dirty laundry or discuss personal opinions. The distinction must be clear. The reputation of the agency could be tarnished as a result of the misuse of social media.

I have never used my social media pages for professional use. However, I was told by professionals to be aware of my social media presence because it can often portray you in a negative way to potential employers. I personally do not share much about myself on my social media sites. In my opinion, many people overshare on their personal social media pages. I am not comfortable with posting my every thought online. I realize that I do not use the social media pages to their full extent. But, I think this class will help me find a median when it comes to my social media presence.

